Franklin County Commissioners Court Commissioner Court Minutes Workshop Session January 13, 2025

The Franklin County Commissioners Court met in a Workshop Session on January 13, 2025, at 2:00 PM in the District Courtroom at the Franklin County Courthouse located at 200 North Kaufman Street, Mount Vernon, Texas.

Members present: Scott Lee, County Judge

Jerry Cooper, Commissioner Precinct 1 Toby Godfrey, Commissioner Precinct 2 Scott Newsome, Commissioner Precinct 3 Scott Smith, Commissioner Precinct 4

Brook Bussell, County Clerk

VISITORS: Beth Hedges, Paris Tillery, Brantin Carr, Max Cannaday, Melissa Clawson, Ellen Jaggers, Clint Bain, Ricky Jones, Ken Campbell, Josh Tucker, Steve Everett, Blake Sheffield, Craig Lindholm, Joshua Daily, Bill Wilson, Charlie Wilson, Mike Millender, Peggy Millender, Bill Craig, Tina Jaggers, Marilyn Joyce, Mary McLennan, Betty Austin. Russell McCurdy, Betty Crane, Mark Sachse, Lynn Simpson, Dave Simpson, Lucas Rolf, Virginia Maddox, Richard Thomas, Conner Nix, Brady Crouse, Matt Davis, Kathleen Coffman, Jan Switzer, Donna Massey, Jean Resley, Joe Resley, Emmy Summerlin, Eileen Moring, Michelle Barnes, Carolyn Edwards, Windy Crescimanno, Efton Edwards, Janet Lohr, Alice Kendrick, Carmen Sparks, Debbie Bridge, Mark Griffin, Dawn Keep, David Guianen, Tom Austin, John Wrinkle, Judy Jones, Stan Silva, Eddie Rhoades, Douglas Angle, Jan Andrews, Frankie Cooper, Ken Greer, Claudia Loggins, Daniel Gary, Cynthia Kindrick, Jan Kindrick, Len Lowry, Matt Copeland, Cyndee Clouse, Sue Zempke, Cheryl Janasak, Debbie Harbin, Jackie McElhaney, Linda Morton, Frank Morton, G.W. Sharp, Annie Moya, Hal Gibson, Georgia Gibson, Mac Glaess, Ann Glaess, Cathy Smith. Brad Hyman, Jack Carlson, Makenzie Lyons, Hollie Parker, Gary Boren, Kathy Boren, and Dana Reeves.

Judge Lee called the meeting to order at 2:05 PM. Commissioner Smith offered prayer. The Pledges of Allegiance to the American flag and the Texas flag were recited.

Items discussed:

- 1. Possible partnership with the City of Mt. Vernon and PAWS for an animal shelter. Pros and cons were discussed and many questions asked. Concerns about the PAWS organization were raised as well by some of the attendees. Speakers included: Craig Lindholm, Peggy Millender, Betty Crane, Annie Moya, Michelle Barnes, Dawn Keep, John Wrinkle, Mike Millender, Mac Glaess, Steve Everett, Cyndee Clouse, Tina Jaggers, Claudia Loggins, and Russell McCurdy.
- 2. Emergency Services District Ken Campbell presented information on behalf of the petitioners and answered questions from the Court and the public. Alternatives to an ESD for funding were also discussed. Speakers included: Blake Sheffield, Ken Campbell, John Wrinkle, Josh Daily, Tom Austin, Russell McCurdy, Charlie Wilson, Brad Hyman, Ricky Jones, and Daniel Gary. The public hearing on the petition will be on January 27, 2025 during regular Commissioners Court.

<u>Adjourn</u> – Commissioner Smith made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Commissioner Newsome seconded the motion. Motion carried 4-0. Meeting adjourned at 4:44 PM.

I, Brook Bussell, County Clerk, certify that this is an accurate accounting of the proceedings of the Commissioners Court Workshop Session on January 13, 2025.

Witnessed and recorded this 16th day of January, 2025.

Brook Bussell, County Clerk