Franklin County Commissioners Court Commissioner Court Minutes Special Session January 1, 2025

The Franklin County Commissioners Court met in Special Session January 1, 2025, at 1:00 PM in the District Courtroom at the Franklin County Courthouse located at 200 North Kaufman Street, Mount Vernon, Texas.

Members present: Scott Lee, County Judge

Jerry Cooper, Commissioner, Precinct 1 Toby Godfrey, Commissioner, Precinct 2 Scott Newsome, Commissioner, Precinct 3 Scott Smith, Commissioner, Precinct 4

Brook Bussell, County Clerk

<u>VISITORS:</u> Ricky Jones, Melissa McSwain Clawson, Brantin Carr, and many family members of friends of those being sworn in.

Judge Lee called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM. Commissioner Smith offered prayer. The Pledges of Allegiance to the American flag and the Texas flag were recited.

Public Comments: None

<u>Agenda Item 1 – SWEARING IN CEREMONY FOR THE FOLLOWING ELECTED</u> OFFICIALS ASSUMING OFFICE:

JERRY COOPER - PRECINCT 1 COMMISSIONER
SCOTT NEWSOME - PRECINCT 3 COMMISSIONER
RICKY JONES - COUNTY SHERIFF
BRANTIN CARR - COUNTY CONSTABLE
LANDON RAMSAY - COUNTY ATTORNEY
MELISSA CLAWSON - COUNTY TAX ASSESSOR-COLLECTOR

Judge Lee swore in the following elected officials: Jerry Cooper, Scott Newsome, Ricky Jones, Brantin Carr, and Melissa Clawson. Landon Ramsay was sworn in during a separate ceremony at 11:30 by Retired District Judge Lanny Ramsay.

<u>Agenda Item 2 – ADJOURN –</u> Commissioner Newsome made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Smith seconded the motion. Motion carried 4-0. Meeting adjourned at 1:11 PM.

I, Brook Bussell, County Clerk, certify that this is an accurate accounting of the proceedings of the Commissioners' Court Special Session on January 1, 2025.

Witnessed and recorded this 8th day of January, 2025.

Brook	Bussell,	County	Clerk