## MNARC MEETING NOTES 7 DECEMBER 2023

Board: President – Ann Tenaglia, KA3KCJ Vice President – Erin Farmer, KM4WSK Treasurer – Paul Keener, K3TH Secretary – Kevin DePaul, N4SEN

CALL TO ORDER:

President, Ann Tenaglia, KA3KCJ, called the meeting to order at 1908 hours, and requested members and guests to identify themselves by name and callsign, for those who have them.

Club Vice President, Erin Farmer (KM4WSK) then presented outgoing club secretary, Kevin DePaul (N4SEN) and outgoing club treasurer, Paul Keener (KT3H) each with a complimentary MNARC coffee cup for their service to the club, as newly elected members to those positions will begin their terms as of 1 January 2024.

Jim Goldman, W3JG, gave a short announcement concerning grant money available through the ARRL for the advancement of Ham Radio throughout the nation. This was followed by a short discussion on club bylaws, but club President Ann Tenaglia stated that the given question would be brought up at a later meeting, as time was needed for the evening's guest speaker and club elections.

Club Treasurer Paul Keener (KT3H) gave a short report on club funds, and that at present the club had 120 members, not all of whom are up to date with dues, and requested those who have not renewed to please do so before March 2024. He also noted that the club has \$10,800 in the account.

The evening's guest speaker, Jeff Jarge (K3JRZ) gave a very interesting talk and slide show on how he produces YouTube productions about Parks on the Air ("POTA"), operating ham radio equipment at the various state parks in the region. He showed several photos of different equipment set-ups, including the suggested power methods to run equipment for a given period of time. Jeff also gave a short description of the rules and regulations of operating a "POTA" station.

The annual club elections were held for the positions of President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary. Ann Tenaglia (KC3KCJ) was reelected for another term; Erin Farmer (KM4WSK) was also reelected Club Vice President; Alex Pierce (KC3MBV) was elected Club Secretary, and Tim Dati (KC3PTC) was elected Club Treasurer.

The following individuals attended our meeting:

- 1. AA3IS, HARRY BULLOCK
- 2. N4SEN, KEVIN DEPAUL
- 3. N3ZP, PHIL ZMIMBA
- 4. W3VT, VIC TENAGLIA
- 5. W3UP, DICK KLINE
- 6. N3OMR, MIKE LEBRUN
- 7. N3BKR, KENT SIMMONS
- 8. W3JNF, JIM FOSTER
- 9. K2HA, FRED SCHRAMM
- 10. ED PIERCE, NO C/S
- 11. KC3MBV, ALEX PIERCE
- 12. WA3OXY, BURNELL BROWN
- 13. WA3KFT, JOHN DYCKMAN
- 14. N3QB, MATT CARANGO
- 15. KC3VTF, MIKE PENTIMAL
- 16. JUSTINE BRADY, NO C/S
- 17. KC3TER, JOE JARDINE
- 18. W3JG, JIM GOLDMAN
- 19. KC3USB, DAVE INGRAHAM
- 20. AA3EO, NEIL BLAHO
- 21. WB3HRQ, JOHN DIBENEDETTO
- 22. KC3ABS, EARL PENSYL
- 23. KM4WSK, ERIN FARMER
- 24. JOHN ANDERSON, NO C/S
- 25. KC3BWY, JOHN SCALA
- 26. KB3SUS, MIKE THOMAS
- 27. KC3KCJ, ANN TENAGLIA

- 28. KT3H, PAUL KEENER
- 29. KC3PTC, TIM DATI
- 30. KC3SBP, FRANK GALLO
- 31. N3PEG, PEG DALY
- 32. W3CGS, MARIO THELIOFERRI
- 33. N9KIW, CHIP JOHNSON
- 34. N3JRV, MIKE VASSO
- 35. AC3IK, ED SWEENEY
- 36. ELLEN THELIOFERRI, NO C/S
- 37. KA3VWN, VINNY TALOTTA
- 38. K3JRZ, JEFF ZARGE
- 39. K3DMC, CHIP LILLY
- 40. KC3WHU, WALT MANKOWSKI

THE 50/50 DRAWING WAS WON BY DAVE, KC3USB.

NOTHING FOLLOWS.

Ann then requested that all participants identify themselves by name and callsign.

Club treasurer, Paul Keener, KT3H, and club Vice President, Erin farmer, KM4WSK, were unable to attend the meeting.

Another call for volunteers as Net Control Operators was made by Ann, and she noted that a copy of the net control script is available on the club website for those who may be interested in giving it a try.

She also noted that Club Treasurer, Paul Keener, would be vacating his position immediately, as his travel and work schedule are such that he will be unable to attend most meetings. Club Secretary, Kevin DePaul, will also conclude his tour of duty at the end of December. Both positions will be available for the 2024 period. Nominations for those positions are being accepted.

Ann reminded club members and guests that the club picnic will be held on 14 October at Ridley Creek State Park, and that a "Parks On The Air" (POTA) would be taking place along with other ham related activities. The exact pavilion will be announced via the club web site, since as of this meeting, it had not been decided by the park authorities.

It is also time to renew club membership, and the \$20.00 payment should be made via the "Cheddar-Up" site. Members should also indicate on the form if they are or are not ARRL members.

With regard to the less-than-optimum operation of the 70cm repeater, a new amplifier has been ordered and will be installed as soon as possible.

Following the announcements, Ann introduced fellow club member Neil Blaho who provided an informative discussion on "Dipole Propagation". His presentation included a slide show depicting the following aspects of antenna construction, how various antenna patterns and shapes are formed, depending on

height, frequency, the effect caused by the earth itself, as well as moisture, mineral content, and the radio horizon. All of the above aspects, and more, may seriously affect a signal path. Neil also noted the possible differences in dipole patterns versus height of an antenna, as was pointed out on a few of the slides.

A short question and answer period followed Neil's presentation.

Following the presentations, Ann presented Neil with a club coffee mug as a token of the club's appreciation for his presentation.

The 50-50 drawing was won by Justine B.

The following 23 individuals attended the meeting:

- 1.N3ZP, Phil Zminda
- 2. AA3IS, Harry Bullock
- 3. N3QP, Matt Carango
- 4. AA3EO, Neil Blaho
- 5. N3OMR, Mike Lebrun
- 6. W3JG, Jim Goldman
- 7. KA3KCJ, Ann Tenaglio
- 8. KC3USB, Dave Ingram
- 9. Justine Brady (No callsign yet)
- 10. KB3SUS, Mike Thomas
- 11. W3WT, Vic Tenaglio
- 12. K2HA, Fred Schramm
- 13. W3YDC, John Nielans
- 14. KB1LOX, Tom McCusker
- 15. WA3KFT, John Dyckman
- 16. KC3WTK, Mike Dougherty
- 17. AF3IL, Andrey Filkov
- 18. W3GBW, Glenn Seggern
- 19. John Anderson (No callsign yet)
- 20. K3VAZ, Jim Morris

- 21. NI20, Mark Phillips
- 22. KC3WBQ, Al Greto
- 23. N4SEN, Kevin DePaul

The meeting was adjourned at 2015 hours.

Nothing follows.