MNARC MEETING NOTES

2 November 2023

Board: President – Ann Tenaglia, KA3KCJ (Absent)

Vice President – Erin Farmer, KM4WSK

Treasurer – Paul Keener, K3TH

Secretary – Kevin DePaul, N4SEN

CALL TO ORDER:

Vice President, Erin Farmer, KM4WSK, called the meeting to order at 1904 hours, and requested all attendees to identify themselves by name and callsign.

Club President, Ann Tenaglia, KC3KCJ, was unable to attend the meeting.

Erin then introduced the evening's guest speaker, Jason Rausch, K4APR, who, via a ZOOM presentation, provided a discussion and slide show about APRS, including current and future uses. Jason has been a licensed amateur radio operator for over 30 years, and has a niche passion for all things APRS. He is active in his local radio club, Chesapeake Amateur Radio Service W4CAR, giving talks and leading maker builds in his own community

also. He is a founding member of the APRS Foundation, currently serving on its Leadership Board. He is also founder/owner of the Chesapeake, VA based RPC Electronics LLC. Bridging the gap between ham generations, K4APR maintains active Instagram (@rpcelectronics), YouTube, and Facebook social media accounts that you can peruse at your leisure.

Following the slide show presentation was a question and answer period.

Club members will be voting for Club Officer candidates at the December club meeting, and the following individuals have been nominated thus far:

For President: Mike Vasso, N3RJV

For Treasurer: Tim Dati, KC3PTC

For Secretary: Matt Carango, N3QB

Alex Pierce, KC3MBV

It is also time to renew club membership, and the \$20.00 payment should be made via the "Cheddar-Up" site. Members should also indicate on the form if they are or are not ARRL members.

The 50-50 drawing was won by Vinnie Talotta, who graciously donated the winnings to the club. Thanks for your kind gesture, Vinnie. It is much appreciated by the members.

The following 23 individuals attended the meeting:

- 1. N4SEN Kevin DePaul
- 2. KC3VTF Mike Pentimall
- 3. AA3IS Harry Bullock
- 4. N3ZP Phil Zmimba
- 5. W3FJB Feliks Bortkiewicz
- 6. AA3EO Neil Blaho
- 7. N3OMR Mike Lebrun
- 8. W3JG Jim Goldman
- 9. W3YDC John Nielans
- 10. KB3SUS Mike Thomas
- 11. Ed Pierce
- 12. KC3MBV Alex Pierce
- 13. WA3OXY Burnell Brown
- 14. KM4WSK Erin Farmer
- 15. NI2O Mark PHillips
- 16. KC3PTC Tim Dati
- 17. KC3WWR Andrew Holden

- 18. N3QB Matt Carango
- 19. Feliciti Cacciatore
- 20. KT3H Paul Keener
- 21. N3LMY Dan Cashin
- 22. K3VAZ Jim Morris
- 23. N3RJV Mike Vasso
- 24. KA3VWW Vinnie Talotta
- 25. KC3VWY John Scala
- 26. KC3RYS Bill O'Reilly

The meeting was adjourned at 2015 hours.

Nothing follows.